Ohio CCW and Firearms Law Changes

The State of Ohio makes regular changes to laws for Concealed Carry license holders and gun owners as a whole. In order to keep our visitors up to date  - and out of trouble - we are working to catalogue those changes here.

This information also serves to help dispel the myths surrounding your limitations, rights and responsibilities as a CCW holder.

  • Ohio is Now a "Permitless Carry" State
    • On June 13, 2022, Ohio SB215 was enacted and impacts concealed carriers in Ohio in two ways:
      • Qualifying adults are no longer required to obtain a state-issued license to carry a concealed handgun (we are still an open-carry state)
      • Citizens are longer longer required to voluntarily and "Promptly" inform law enforcement that they are carrying a firearm. Instead, Citizens will be required to inform law enforcement that they are carrying after being asked if they are in possession of a handgun.
    • So, what does this mean?
      • QUALIFYING ADULTS are defined as anyone over the age of 21, living legally in the United States who are not otherwise prohibited by one or more of the following:
        • Any felony conviction
        • Any misdemeanor carrying a prison sentence of one year or more
        • Resisting Arrest or Assault on a police officer within 10 years
        • Being a fugitive from justice
        • Using, being addicted to, or in danger of addiction to illegal drugs (including legal use with medical marijuana card)
        • Chronic alcohol addiction
        • Certain mental illness
        • Dishonorable military discharge
        • Renounced United States citizenship
        • A protection order against you
        • Misdemeanor Domestic Violence Conviction
        • Indictment or conviction of any felony of illegal drug use, possession or trafficking (or equivalent juvenile adjudication)
        • A violent misdemeanor that is not covered anywhere else in this law (within the previous 3 years)
        • Falsification of a CHL (within the previous 3 years)
        • Possessing a Revoked or Suspended CHL (within the previous 3 years)
        • 2 or more convictions of assault or negligent assault (within 5 years)
      • ALL forbidden concealed carry zones apply to permitless carry
      • The SCHOOL SAFETY ZONE EXCEPTION for concealed carry is NOT extended to permitless carry.
      • You MUST still have a valid OHIO CHL in order to carry in states that require a license for reciprocity (Michigan requires a license for reciprocity)

 

 

  • Duty to Retreat in a Self-Defense Situation
    • On January 4, 2021, Governor DeWine signed Senate Bill (SB) 175 that will remove the duty to retreat when faced with a defensive shooting situation
    • When this law takes effect on April 6th, citizens will NOT be required to first try to extricate themselves from a life-threatening situation before using their firearms to defend themselves
    • this law DOES NOT ELIMINATE THE REQUIREMENTS OF THE FIRST TWO CONDITIONS:
      • The defender was not the instigator
      • The defender REASONABLY believed they (or someone else) was in danger of IMMEDIATE serious bodily harm or death.
    • Read more from the Buckeye Firearms Association HERE

  • CCW Application and Renewal Changes
    • IMPORTANT! The provisions outlined in Ohio Senate Bill 614 EXPIRE on 30 June, 2021!
    • Beginning 01 JULY 2021, applicants for the Ohio CHL will be REQUIRED to apply at sheriff offices IN THE COUNTY IN WHICH THEY RESIDE OR AN ADJACENT COUNTY
      • This means that you will NO LONGER be able to apply at ANY sheriff's office in the state.
      • Please make your appointments as far in advance as possible as wait times in larger, metropolitan counties can be long. 
  • Knife Law Changes in Ohio
    • OK, not a firearms law change, but how many of you concealed-carriers are packing a Benchmade or even an Uncle Henry in your pocket as well?
    • On January, 11, 2021, Governor DeWine signed Senate Bill (SB) 140 . This bill makes IMPORTANT changes to law in that it distinguishes between the carry/possession of an edged weapon and its use
    • This new law does NOT go into effect until April 12, 2021, so be careful with what you do until then
    • First, the ban on manufacture and sale of “switchblade,” “spring blade” and “gravity” knives is repealed.
      • Yes, you can now have that automatic
    • It clears up the vague and confusing Ohio law regarding carry of ANY knife by defining a knife, razor or cutting instrument as a “deadly weapon” or “weapon” ONLY if it is used as a weapon. This would allow carrying any knife concealed under state law.
    • Thanks to kniferights.org for their summary of the changes related to SB140.
    • You can read their full summation HERE